FCC Announces Members and Meeting Time for Precision Agriculture Task Force; Solicits Nominations for Working Groups


The Federal Communications Commission (FCC or Commission) has issued a Public Notice announcing the membership and first meeting date of the Precision Agriculture Task Force (Task Force), which is assigned to explore ways to enhance the productivity and efficiency of the nation’s agriculture through broadband-based technologies. The first meeting is scheduled for Monday, December 9, at 9:30 a.m. at FCC Headquarters. Teddy Bekele, Land O’Lakes Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, will serve as the Chair of the Task Force, and Catherine Moyer, Pioneer Communications Chief Executive Office and General Manager, will serve as Vice Chair. A full list of the Task Force’s members is attached to the Public Notice.

The Commission also announced, in a Public Notice, the four working groups that will assist the Task Force in performing its duties. The four working groups are: (1) Mapping and Analyzing Connectivity on Agricultural Lands; (2) Examining Current and Future Connectivity Demand for Precision Agriculture; (3) Encouraging Adoption of Precision Agriculture and Availability of High-Quality Jobs on Connected Farms; and (4) Accelerating Broadband Deployment on Unserved Agricultural Lands. The Commission also solicited nominations for these working groups. Nominations for membership are to be submitted by December 3, 2019. Nominees for membership on the Task Force will be considered for membership in the working groups without reapplying.

Share Button