FCC: National Verifier Delay Results in Waivers for Lifeline ETCs


The FCC has released an order granting a limited waiver to those eligible telecommunications carriers (ETCs) impacted by the delay of the launch of the National Lifeline Eligibility Verifier (National Verifier).  Specifically, on its own motion, the FCC has temporarily waived the Lifeline Program’s recertification rules in the states of Colorado, Montana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming from January 1, 2018 through the date of the soft launch of the National Verifier for subscribers whose recertification deadlines or “anniversary dates” would otherwise fall during that time frame.  The FCC and USAC expect that the delay of the National Verifier’s launch will be of short duration, and this temporary waiver will allow impacted subscribers to be independently and objectively recertified and reverified by the National Verifier.

Share Button