FCC Adopts Order Closing 11 Enforcement Bureau Field Offices


In order to create a more effective organization within the limits of its budgetary constraints, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has adopted an Order which closes 11 of the 24 FCC Enforcement Bureau field offices and makes other related structural changes. Pursuant to the new field structure, the following field offices will be closed: Anchorage, Alaska; Buffalo, New York; Detroit, Michigan; Houston, Texas; Kansas City, Missouri; Norfolk, Virginia; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; San Diego, California; San Juan, Puerto Rico; Seattle, Washington; and Tampa, Florida. However, the Enforcement Bureau will contract with local personnel to maintain a field presence in Alaska and Puerto Rico and will also periodically dispatch field agents to Kansas City, Missouri. Going forward, all FCC Enforcement Bureau field agents will be required to have electrical engineering backgrounds. Additionally, the Order requires the Enforcement Bureau, within the next six weeks, to establish procedures for industry and public safety complainants to escalate their complaints within the new field office organization.

Share Button