Virginia Governor and North Dakota Legislator Join Intergovernmental Advisory Committee


Federal Communications Chairman (FCC) Tom Wheeler recently announced the appointments of Virginia Governor Terry McAuliffe and North Dakota State Representative Blair Thoreson to fill open seats for a state executive and a state legislator on the Federal Communications Commission’s Intergovernmental Advisory Committee (IAC).  Karen Jackson, Virginia’s Secretary of Technology, will be Governor McAuliffe’s designated representative.  The FCC’s IAC was created to advise the FCC on telecommunications issues that affect local, state and Tribal governments but are within the jurisdiction of the FCC, such as broadband deployment and adoption, public safety communications, facilities siting, universal service reform, and public rights-of-way.  Pursuant to the FCC’s rules, the IAC is composed of the following 15 members: four elected municipal officials (city mayors and city council members); two elected county officials (county commissioners or council members); one elected or appointed local government attorney; one elected state executive (governor or lieutenant governor); three elected state legislators; one elected or appointed public utilities or public service commissioner; and three elected or appointed Native American tribal representatives.

Share Button