WCB Announces Lifeline-Supported Conditional Forbearance Counties


The FCC’s Wireline Competition Bureau has announced the Lifeline-supported counties where conditional forbearance applies, pursuant to the Commission’s 2016 Lifeline Order.  The 2016 Lifeline Order established conditional forbearance from Lifeline voice obligations in areas where three competitive conditions are met: (1) 51 percent of Lifeline subscribers in the county are obtaining broadband service; (2) there are at least three other providers of Lifeline broadband service that each serve at least 5 percent of the Lifeline subscribers in that county; and (3) the eligible telecommunications carrier (ETC) does not actually receive federal high-cost universal service support.

The Appendix attached to the Public Notice lists the counties where conditional forbearance from the high cost/Lifeline ETCs’ Lifeline voice obligation will apply effective on August 31, 2022.

Share Button